Cricket they say is a game of great uncertainties. No one would believe this more than people of two nations united by one tournament called the IPL. When it all began on 18th of April, something told me that Royal Challengers will reach the final with Rajasthan Royals. While I had to get a lot of flack for not supporting according to me ‘hyped team’ of Deccan Chargers, I was sure they did not have the potential even to win this tourney.

 

Alas! The first sentence of this post proved right! But why did I not have the faith in Chargers? Well strictly personal opinion, but I still don’t see them as “MY HYDERBAD” team. All that aside, from number 8 to number one has been a story that I can put only in one single phrase… DREAM RUN.

 

From Hyderabad heroes being the champs of ICL 1 to Deccan being the last team of IPL 1, life for a Hyderabad cricket fan went one more full circle. As Gilly and boys prepare come back “home”, there is a buzz around the city. Go Chargers, Go Chargers, Go….go go go… is the new mantra.

 

To describe what I went through while the final match was on is the term “Khichdi of emotions”. Well mixed is the meaning of khichdi in the context. At one stage when chargers posted 143, it looked game over for them and for me who was sitting in between 500 odd chargers supporters gunning for RCB time to smile. As the rains lashed the city of Hyderabad, chargers in bullring were picking one after other Bangalore batsmen. And when the fourth ball of the 20th over was bowled there was eruption. A massive one.

 

Following morning when I look back, I think both the teams did immensely well from being the bottom 2 to the top 2. And credit must be given to those “retired”, “old”, “unfit”, fellows who stamped their authority over the so called young man’s game. In fact if you look at the IPL 2 as a whole you will observe, ‘Young guys can give that energy to the team, but if you want to win you need a matured head’. So true when you see the list of performers this year. Big Matt Hayden, Little (!) Sachin Tendulkar, Jayasuriya, The Wall Dravid, Jumbo Kumble, all of these well past their 35s did fantastic job for their sides.

 

So what shall I say!! At the end all I can say is the chargers did hear the plea I made in one of my blog and did give us more. Victories that is.. So this time for the chargers…. ONE AND TWO AND THREE AND FOUR. DECCAN CHARGERS GAVE US MORE.